Héritage Sutton launches a 36th History Sketchbook

In his article on patent remedies, Martin Gagnon shows how, until governments regulated practices, potions, elixirs, and ointments of all kinds with miraculous virtues circulated without constraint throughout the countryside. For his part, Serge Jothy strived to trace the physicians who practiced in Sutton over the last two hundred years. In addition, The Richford Attraction…

Read More

The return of Mémoires en Fête

20220231_.jpg

The last time was five years ago. We had planned to come back sooner, but then the pandemic hit. Although it is still uncertain as to the intensity of the new waves, we are preparing to welcome back the population of Sutton and the surrounding area for a great celebration of memory that will take…

Read More

A new virtual file : “A century of educational service”

Heritage Sutton has traced the history of Sutton Academy and Ave Maria School, which successively occupied the building now known as the John-Sleeth Community Centre between 1886 and 1986. This file gathers archival documents, photos and oral testimonies of people who attended these schools it can be consulted online at heritagesutton.ca/en/our-publications/virtual-files. This project was made…

Read More

The John-Sleeth Centre: State of play

It is not only today that the population of Sutton, and more specifically the cultural community, is questioning the need for a cultural and community center worthy of the name. The reflection was particularly intense between 2008 and 2012 and led to the filing of several reports that were probably kept in the City archives…

Read More

Call for volunteers !

If you like history and have a little time, join our team of volunteers for the pleasure of exchanging on genealogy, heritage, the great moments of local and regional history and to discover the testimonies of those who built Sutton. Send us an email at heritagesutton@gmail.com specifying your field of interest. Thank you for your interest.

Read More

Héritage Sutton lance un 36e Cahier d’histoire

Avant que les gouvernements n’y mettent de l’ordre, les potions, élixirs et onguents de toutes sortes, aux vertus miraculeuses, circulaient sans contrainte dans les campagnes comme le montre Martin Gagnon dans son article sur les remèdes patentés. De son côté, Serge Jothy a cherché à retracer les médecins qui ont pratiqué à Sutton au cours…

Lire la suite

Le retour de Mémoires en Fête

31_

La dernière fois, c’était il y a cinq ans. Nous avions projeté de revenir plus tôt mais il y a eu la pandémie. Bien que l’incertitude règne toujours quant au déferlement de nouvelles vagues et à leur intensité, nous nous préparons à accueillir de nouveau la population de Sutton et des environs pour une grande…

Lire la suite

Mise en ligne du dossier virtuel «Un siècle au service de l’éducation»

Heritage Sutton - Centre communautaire John-Sleeth - 1922

Héritage Sutton a retracé l’histoire de la Sutton Academy et de l’école Ave Maria qui ont occupé successivement entre 1886 et 1986 l’édifice aujourd’hui connu sous le nom de Centre communautaire John-Sleeth. Ce dossier regroupe des documents d’archives, des photos et des témoignages oraux de gens ayant fréquentés ces écoles ; pour le consulter :…

Lire la suite

Le centre John-Sleeth : état de la situation

Ce n’est pas d’aujourd’hui que la population de Sutton, et plus spécifiquement le milieu culturel, s’interroge sur la nécessité de disposer d’un centre culturel et communautaire digne de ce nom. La réflexion a été particulièrement intense entre 2008 et 2012 et a donné lieu au dépôt de plusieurs rapports sans doute conservés dans les archives…

Lire la suite