Héritage Sutton – Discover the history of Sutton (Quebec)

Are you intrigued by history? Are you convinced our heritage needs to be preserved? So are we. Sutton’s historical society Héritage Sutton educates while preserving memories. It researches, interprets, preserves and shares the artefacts that tell the region’s and its inhabitants’ history. A journey through time to which you are all invited, even the younger ones who now have their own space, Youth Corner, where they can visit the past while playing.

What’s New

The latest news from Héritage Sutton

First, some sad news. Héritage Sutton Vice President Georges Létourneau has passed away. Colonel and military doctor, retired, he was almost 91 years old, had lived in Sutton for 33 years and was an active member of Héritage Sutton for more than 30 years. We thank him from the bottom of our hearts for his commitment. We will miss him.

On a happier note: the position of project coordinator for The word of the elders for which Héritage Sutton received a grant of more than $ 100,000 (see our website www.heritagesutton.ca) has been filled. Twenty-eight people sent their CV and Dominique Parent was chosen after a rigorous selection process. Expect her to call upon you in her search for people who can bear witness to Sutton’s past and others who might be interested in getting involved in this exciting project.

The departure of Mr. Létourneau and the appointment of Dominique Parent leave empty chairs on the Board of Directors of Héritage Sutton. If you are interested in a position on the board or know someone who could be, please let us know by email at the following address: heritagesutton@gmail.com. To learn more about Héritage Sutton, visit our web site (www.heritagesutton.ca) or come see us. We are located in the town hall and open on Wednesday mornings from 9:30 to noon. We will welcome you with great pleasure.

To preserve and highlight seniors’ oral histories in Sutton

As part of the Quebec Friends of the Elderly program (QADA) sponsored by the Minister responsible for Seniors and Anti-Bullying, Francine Charbonneau, Heritage Sutton will receive a substantial grant, up to $106,200 over two years, to preserve and enhance the oral histories of local seniors.

In order to trace the history of Sutton, its region, and the people and families who wrote it, the Sutton-based historical society has collected and preserved the oral testimonies of many local seniors. Interviews conducted between 1960 and 2010 resulted in a bank of nearly one hundred life-stories. Most of these interviews were recorded in formats that make them hard to consult and so access to this historical gold-mine has become difficult and very limited.

This significative initiative first aims to transfer the existing interviews to digital media, to index them and to transcribe them if necessary, the aim being both to preserve these precious testimonies and to make them easily accessible.

The project also aims to organize meetings to continue to enrich this bank of oral history: new, individual interviews, workshops gathering seniors to discuss old photos, workshops bringing seniors and non-seniors together; all recorded on audio or video.

Finally, activities to highlight and bring to life this rich source of living history are planned. Several avenues will be explored including short live events based on testimonials and presented to various audiences, exhibitions, educational projects, publication of thematic portfolios on the web and articles in the History Sketchbooks of Heritage Sutton, etc.

To carry out this project, the Heritage Sutton Historical Society has teamed with two partners. The Management Committee of the Sutton Junction Community Hall, will participate in the coordination of the project: identifying new oral histories and finding people to conduct the interviews and lead group activities; they will also loan their premises and facilities. The cultural organization, Cœur du village, and the Salle Alec et Gérard Pelletier, will present to various audiences live staging of oral-histories, provide technical services and loan their venue and its equipment. With deep roots in culture and the community, each partner brings valuable expertise towards the success of this most stimulating project for the entire population of the region.

A « historical » gift

If you have a lover of history among in your entourage, Héritage Sutton has the following gift suggestions for you.

For $25, you can offer a one-year membership in Héritage Sutton,that includes the two History Sketchbooks published by the historical society every year.

You can also offer the complete collection of the sketchbooks (27 volumes) with two display cases featuring old photos. All for $150. You can also purchase individual booklets on our web site where you will find their summaries or only the display cases. Each sketchbook sells for $5, the display cases cost $20 each or 2 for $35.

Visit our web site ‑‑heritagesutton.ca—to make your purchases via Paypal or write to us at heritagesutton@gmail.com.

Héritage Sutton launches a 28th History Sketchbook

The Sutton Junction Community Hall celebrates 125 years of activity. Heritage Sutton takes this opportunity to tell its story and to browse the north side of the original Township of Sutton doted with many particular places. This anniversary, which will be highlighted throughout the year by several festive events, is also an opportunity to present six of the pioneer families of this hamlet where solidarity is a way of life : the families Côté, Derby, Draper, Emerson, Pagé and Royea. Melanie Davidson brings her grandfather Cecil Carr . born in Sutton Junction, to life, who, with her grandmother Ola, has left a lasting memory in many a Suttonian.

This new sketchbook can be found in the following outlets: Le Cafetier, Farfelu and Art Libre galleries, Nath’elle boutique, Bons débarras thrift shop, Bureau d’information touristique and, of course, at Héritage Sutton.

2017 Sutton Volunteer Recognition

The Héritage Sutton Historical Society was named as the Volunteer Organization of the year at the 2017 Sutton Volunteer Recognition evening held on Thursday, November 16 at Les Rochers bleus. A huge thank you goes out to all our volunteers and partners whose many hours of work contributed to this honour. The photo shows Jeanne Morazain, Héritage Sutton’s president accepting this tribute in your name.”

A window onto Sutton’s past

Starting September 7, residents, visitors and tourists alike will be able to discover a fascinating photographic history of Sutton’s rue Principale. This free exhibition can be visited at any time; all you need to do is make a trip to Sutton before October 15.

Circa 1900. Cutter’s Tin Shop, , George Cutter and J.H Smith (right). -730/N/002 Collection Brome Country Historical Society

Presented by Heritage Sutton historical society, the exhibition entitled Vitrines sur le passé is displayed in the windows of 24 businesses along Sutton’s lively rue Principale as well as at the Town Hall. Archive photos from the years 1890 to 1925 are displayed beside recent photos, creating a dynamic contrast between the appearance of buildings past and present. “This exhibition reflects the evolution of our architectural heritage over time,” explains Katherine Godbout, initiator of the project. “The exhibition is a window onto an earlier era; it is also an opportunity to discover the modern-day shops, galleries and restaurants that add to the charm of Sutton. Many of the local businesses joined us in this adventure along with the support of the Corporation de développement économique de Sutton and the Town of Sutton. We are all really looking forward to it.”

Visitors are also invited to stroll through the d’Arts et de Rêves cultural park at the northern end of rue Principale. Don’t miss the ten digital paintings by Louis Lefebvre, entitled Les Chemins de l’histoire, made using photos and documents from the Heritage Sutton archives.

Both exhibitions are part of a circuit called Objectif Photo-Cantons-de-l’Est comprising 12 organizations each presenting indoor and outdoor photo exhibitions during May to December 2017. These 12 exhibitions highlight a wide variety of photographic practices, both in terms of form and the subjects explored.

Theatre Maple, Sutton – 830/K/002

Participating in this circuit: Heritage Sutton, the cultural park of d’Arts et de Rêves, Arts Sutton gallery, the Sherbrooke Museum of Fine Arts, the Sacristy of Saint-Venant-de-Paquette gallery, the Community and Cultural Center Françoise-Dunn, the Uplands Cultural and Heritage Center, the Art Gallery of the Université de Sherbrooke Cultural Center, the Brompton Arts and Culture Center, the Parcours Photo Sherbrooke, the Yvonne L. Bombardier Cultural Center in Valcourt and the Beaulne Museum in Coaticook.

Contact: heritagesutton@gmail.com

Stories of the Wars

A hundred years ago during World War 1, over 150 Sutton residents were fighting with the Allies in Europe, and 25 of them lost their lives. Héritage Sutton archives revealed letters from soldiers at the front. Extracts are published in the 25th History Sketchbook just off the presses. To know more about these courageous men who fought in the 1914-1918 and the 1939-1945 World Wars, and how it affected the people of Sutton, read our new booklet entitled Stories of the Wars.

New coordonnates

Héritage Sutton is now situated in the town hall extension at 11, rue Princiaple sud, Sutton, J0E 2K0. Telephone 579-380-9437.

It is with great pleasure that we will welcome you there on Wednesday mornings between 9:30 a.m. and noon or upon appointment. Access is by the back of the new section. Parking on Pine Street when the town hall lot is full.

There are several reasons to visit: buy History Sketchbooks ($5 each) or a display case ($20) to house your collection, discover ways to give us a hand, consult our archives or our reference library where you’ll find a lot of material about Sutton, the Eastern Townships, Québec, New England and First Nations. Or, just come to share; we are always happy to meet you.

Call for volunteers !

To achieve its 2017 priorities, four work groups with specific themes have been created, the only remuneration being the pleasure of sharing knowledge, the discovery of historical facts, or simply to work with others. Four themes are proposed.

Genealogy. To identify relevant sources and to learn to use research tools in order to respond to queries from people wanting to trace the presence of an ancestor in Sutton.
Archive donation. To define a protocol framing archive donations and to propose a support method to persons and families wanting to make a donation.
Oral history. To determine a strategy for the collection and the processing of the testimony of elders and to coordinate the actions to take in the same way.
Buildings patrimony. To identify relevant sources and to learn research tools in order to document the history of the occupation of buildings of patrimonial interest.
To show your interest, send us an e-mail – heritagesutton@gmail.com – give us a call -579 380 9437- or just stop by.

Héritage Sutton – découvrir l’histoire de Sutton (Québec)

Vous aimez l’histoire ? Êtes convaincu qu’il faut préserver notre patrimoine ? Nous aussi. La Société d’histoire Héritage Sutton fait œuvre de mémoire et d’éducation. Elle retrace, interprète, conserve, fait connaître les vestiges qui racontent l’histoire de la région de Sutton et de ses habitants. Un voyage dans le temps auquel vous êtes tous conviés, même les plus jeunes qui ont maintenant leur espace où ils peuvent jouer à retourner dans le passé (onglet Espace jeunes dans le menu).

Actualités

Des nouvelles d’Héritage Sutton

Tout d’abord, une triste nouvelle. Le vice-président d’Héritage Sutton Georges Létourneau est décédé. Colonel et médecin militaire à l a retraite, il avait près de 91 ans, vivait à Sutton depuis 33 ans et était membre actif d’Héritage Sutton depuis plus de 30 ans. Nous le remercions du fonds du cœur pour son engagement. Il nous manquera.

Une nouvelle plus heureuse maintenant. Le poste de coordonnateur du projet La parole des aînés pour lequel Héritage Sutton a reçu une subvention de plus de 100 000 $ a été comblé. Vingt-huit personnes ont envoyé leur CV et Dominique Parent a été choisie après un processus de sélection des plus rigoureux. Attendez-vous à ce qu’elle fasse appel à vous dans sa recherche de personnes pouvant témoigner du passé de Sutton et de personnes désireuses de s’impliquer dans ce projet stimulant.

Le départ de monsieur Létourneau et la nomination de Dominique Parent laissent des chaises vides au conseil d’administration d’Héritage Sutton. Si vous êtes intéressé par un poste d’administrateur ou connaissez quelqu’un qui pourrait l’être, faites nous le savoir par courriel à l’adresses suivante : heritagesutton@gmail.com Pour en savoir plus sur la société d’histoire Héritage Sutton, visitez notre site web (www.heritagesutton.ca) ou venez nous voir : nous sommes toujours au local situé dans l’hôtel de ville le mercredi matin de 9h30 à midi. Nous vous accueillerons avec grand plaisir.

Préserver et mettre en valeur la Parole des Aînés

Dans le cadre du programme Québec amis des aînés (QADA) parrainé par la ministre responsable des Aînés et de la Lutte contre l’intimidation, Francine Charbonneau, nous recevrons une aide financière qui pourra atteindre 106 200  $ sur deux ans afin de préserver et mettre en valeur la Parole des Aînés.

Pour retracer l’histoire de Sutton, de sa région, et des personnes et familles qui l’ont écrite, la société d’histoire recueille et conserve les témoignages des aînés. Entre 1960 et 2010, un fonds de près de cent récits de vie a été constitué. Ces entrevues sont pour la plupart enregistrées sur des supports difficilement consultables, ce qui empêche leur mise en valeur.

Le projet vise dans un premier temps à transférer les entrevues déjà réalisées sur des supports numériques, à les indexer et à les transcrire s’il y a lieu, le but étant de préserver ces précieux témoignages et de les rendre accessibles.

Le projet vise également à organiser des rencontres afin de continuer à enrichir ce fonds d’histoire orale: entrevues individuelles, ateliers regroupant des aînés autour de photos anciennes, ateliers d’échanges entre aînés et non-aînés, le tout enregistré sur support audio ou vidéo.

Enfin, des activités de mise en valeur sont prévues. Plusieurs pistes seront explorées : courtes mises en scène basées sur des témoignages et présentées en salle devant divers publics, expositions, projets éducatifs, publication de dossiers web thématiques et d’articles dans les Cahiers d’histoire d’Héritage Sutton, etc.

Pour mener à bien ce projet, la société d’histoire Héritage Sutton s’est associée à deux partenaires. Le Comité de gestion de la salle communautaire de Sutton Junction participera à la coordination du projet, à la recherche de témoins, prêtera ses locaux et ses équipements. Le Cœur du village et la Salle Alec et Gérard Pelletier présenteront des mises en scène de récits de vie à différents publics, fourniront des services techniques, prêteront des locaux et des équipements. Bien enraciné dans les milieux culturels et communautaires, chaque partenaire apporte une expertise précieuse pour la réussite de ce projet des plus stimulant pour l’ensemble de la population de la région.

Un cadeau “historique”

Si vous avez dans votre entourage un amoureux de l’histoire, Héritage Sutton a des suggestions de cadeau pour vous.

Pour 25 $, vous pouvez offrir une adhésion d’un an à Héritage Sutton, ce qui donne droit aux deux cahiers que publie chaque année la société d’histoire.

Vous pouvez aussi offrir la collection complète des cahiers (27 numéros) dans deux boîtiers ornés de photos anciennes. Le tout pour 150 $. Vous pouvez aussi acheter certains numéros – vous trouverez le sommaire de tous les numéros sur notre site web – ou seulement des boîtiers. Chaque cahier se détaille 5 $ ; les boîtiers se vendent 20 $ l’unité ou 2 pour 35 $.

Visitez notre site web — heritagesutton.ca — pour conclure une transaction via Paypal ou écrivez-nous à heritagesutton@gmail.com.

Héritage Sutton lance un 27e Cahier d’histoire

Un nouveau cahier d’histoire est disponible dans les différents points de vente : Le Cafetier, les galeries Farfelu et Art Libre, la boutique Nath’elle, la friperie Les bons débarras, le Bureau d’information touristique et bien sûr le site de la société d’histoire : heritagesutton.ca

Vous y trouverez des articles sur la maison McClarty, un joyau du patrimoine bâti de Sutton, sur David Marco, l’homme à tout faire de West Sutton, sur la relation historique des Suttonnais avec la nature et leur montagne et sur George Louis Cumine, présenté par sa fille Joan Matthews du Centre de yoga.

Bonne lecture.

Organisme bénévole de l’année 2017

Lors de la soirée de reconnaissance des bénévoles qui a eu lieu le jeudi 16 novembre aux Rochers bleus, la société d’histoire Héritage Sutton a été désignée Organisme bénévole de l’année 2017. Un grand merci à tous nos bénévoles et nos partenaires dont les nombreuses heures de travail nous valent cet honneur. Sur la photo, la présidente Jeanne Morazain acceptant cet honneur en votre nom.

Une vitrine sur le passé à Sutton

Du 7 septembre au 15 octobre, résidents, visiteurs et touristes pourront découvrir l’histoire de la rue Principale de Sutton. Cette exposition gratuite peut être visitée en tout temps; il suffit de prévoir une virée à Sutton.

Circa 1900. Cutter’s Tin Shop, , George Cutter and J.H Smith (right). -730/N/002 Collection Brome Country Historical Society

Présentée par la société d’histoire Héritage Sutton, Vitrines sur le passé s’affiche dans les vitrines de 24 bâtiments commerciaux et à l’hôtel de ville de Sutton. Photos d’archives des années 1890 à 1925 et photos récentes se côtoient créant un contraste dynamique entre l’apparence des édifices hier et aujourd’hui. « Cette exposition témoigne de l’évolution du patrimoine bâti au fil du temps, explique Katherine Godbout, initiatrice du projet. La promenade proposée est à la fois une vitrine sur le passé et sur le présent ; elle est aussi l’occasion de découvrir les boutiques, galeries et restaurants qui ajoutent au charme de Sutton. De très nombreux commerçants nous ont suivi dans cette aventure avec l’appui de la Corporation de développement économique et de la Ville. Nous nous en réjouissons.»

Les visiteurs sont également invités à se balader dans le parc culturel d’Arts et de Rêves et à y emprunter Les Chemins de l’histoire pour y admirer les dix tableaux numériques réalisés par Louis Lefebvre à partir de photos et documents d’archives tirés des collections d’Héritage Sutton.

Ces deux expositions font partie d’un circuit baptisé Objectif Photo-Cantons-de-l’Est regroupant 12 diffuseurs qui présentent chacun , de mai à décembre 2017, en salle et en plein air, une expositions de photos.  Ces 12 expositions mettent en lumière une grande variété de pratiques photographiques, autant au niveau de la forme que des sujets explorés.

Theatre Maple, Sutton – 830/K/002

Participent à ce circuit : Héritage Sutton, le parc culturel d’Arts et de Rêves, la galerie Arts Sutton, le Musée des beaux-arts de Sherbrooke, la Galerie La Sacristie de Saint-Venant-de-Paquette, le Centre communautaire et culturel Françoise-Dunn, le Centre culturel et du patrimoine Uplands, la Galerie d’art du Centre culturel de l’Université de Sherbrooke, la Maison des arts et de la culture de Brompton, le Parcours Photo Sherbrooke, le Centre culturel Yvonne L. Bombardier à Valcourt et le Musée Beaulne de Coaticook.

Contact : heritagesutton@gmail.com

Histoires de guerres

Il y a un siècle, la première guerre mondiale battait son plein. Plus de 150 résidents de Sutton ont combattu dans les rangs alliés ; 25 y ont laissé leur vie. Héritage Sutton a retrouvé dans ses archives des lettres de soldats envoyés au front et en publie des extraits dans le cahier no. 25 tout juste sorti des presses. Pour en savoir plus sur ces valeureux combattants, sur la guerre de 1914-1918, sur celle de 1939-1945 et ses impacts sur la population de Sutton, lisez notre nouveau dossier Histoires de guerres.

Nouvelles coordonnées

Héritage Sutton occupe de nouveaux locaux dans l’agrandissement de l’hôtel de ville 11, rue Principale Sud, Sutton, J0E 2K0.
C’est avec grand plaisir que nous vous y accueillerons les mercredis matins entre 9 h 30 et midi ou sur rendez-vous les autres jours. L’entrée est à l’arrière de l’agrandissement et l’on trouve à se stationner sur le rue Pine lorsque le stationnement de l’hôtel de ville est complet.

Il y a plusieurs raisons de nous visiter : acheter des cahiers (5 $ le cahier) ou un boîtier (20 $) pour votre collection, explorer des façons de nous aider, consulter nos archives ou notre bibliothèque qui offrent beaucoup à ceux qui s’intéressent à l’histoire de Sutton, des Cantons-de-l’Est, du Québec, de la Nouvelle-Angleterre et des Amérindiens. Ou venez simplement pour échanger, nous serons toujours heureux de vous rencontrer.

Appel à bénévoles !

Héritage Sutton a créé quatre groupes de travail sur les thématiques prioritaires de l’année 2017. Pour seul salaire, le plaisir de partager des connaissances, de découvrir des parcelles d’histoire ou, tout simplement, de travailler ensemble. Quatre thématiques sont proposées.
La généalogie. L’objectif est d’identifier les sources pertinentes et d’apprendre à utiliser les outils de recherche afin de répondre aux demandes des personnes désireuses de retracer la présence d’un ancêtre à Sutton.

Le patrimoine bâti. L’objectif est d’identifier les sources pertinentes et d’apprendre à utiliser les outils de recherche afin de documenter l’histoire de l’occupation des édifices d’intérêt patrimonial

Le don d’archives. L’objectif est de définir un protocole encadrant les dons d’archives et de proposer un accompagnement aux personnes et familles désireuses de faire un don.

L’histoire orale. L’objectif est d’arrêter une stratégie pour la collecte et le traitement des témoignages des aînés et de coordonner les actions en ce sens.

Pour manifester votre intérêt, communiquez avec nous par courriel – heritagesutton@gmail.com – par téléphone – 579 380 9437 – ou venez nous voir.